‹ Back to List

Indianapolis Teacher Tina Ahlgren Named ISTA Hoosier Educator of the Year

INDIANAPOLIS – April 12, 2024 – The Indiana State Teachers Association (ISTA) is proud to announce Tina C. Ahlgren as the recipient of the

2024 Hoosier Educator of the Year award. The award ceremony took place today at Center for Inquiry #2 in Indianapolis, where Ahlgren teaches. She was honored in a special assembly attended by the school’s K-8 student body and teaching staff.

Ahlgren, who has been an influential figure in Indianapolis Public Schools for nearly two decades, was recognized for her exceptional dedication to student achievement, commitment to professional growth, and advocacy for the education profession.

ISTA Vice President Jennifer Smith-Margraf expressed her appreciation, stating, "Tina represents the very best of our profession. Her commitment to her students, her colleagues, and the broader educational community exemplifies what it means to be a leader in education. We are incredibly proud to honor her as the Hoosier Educator of the Year."

Ahlgren’s achievements include previous recognition as the Indianapolis Public Schools Teacher of the Year and a finalist for Indiana Teacher of the Year. Her active involvement in educational policy and community engagement further highlights her dedication to enhancing the quality of education in Indiana.

In partnership with Horace Mann Educators Corporation, ISTA recognizes the Hoosier Educator of the Year with a monetary award. Additionally, Ahlgren will represent Indiana as the nominee for the NEA Foundation Award for Teaching Excellence.