Why Join ISTA-Retired? 

ISTA-Retired provides an opportunity to remain connected to the profession to which they dedicated their careers. A membership in ISTA-Retired is a membership in ISTA and the National Education Association (NEA). ISTA-Retired members have the option to then join a local chapter to remain connected in their local community. The knowledge and experience of ISTA-Retired members are integral to the continued success of ISTA, with an ISTA-Retired member serving on the ISTA board of directors, four Retired member appointments to the ISTA Standing Committees and representation on Indiana Political Action Committee for Education (I-PACE).

ISTA-Retired members remain connected to the education profession and colleagues following retirement. Retired members continue to support public education through the activities and programs of ISTA.

Join ISTA-Retired 

Joining ISTA-Retired is an opportunity for continuous membership in the Association. ISTA and NEA member benefits continue into retired membership. In addition, competitive rates for high-quality, long-term care insurance, Medicare supplemental insurance, retired dental and vision plans and liability insurance for substitute teaching become available to retired members. Member benefits also include: low rates for auto and home insurance, travel discounts and more. 

Retired membership can be paid annually or by a lifetime membership, which locks-in the membership rate. Fill out an application to begin Retired membership. 

Online payment is by credit card only. If you prefer to pay by electronic funds transfer (EFT) or by personal check, please complete the membership form or contact the Member Resource Center. 

Questions? Contact the Member Resource Center at 844-ASK-ISTA (275-4782).

ISTA-Retired Membership Form 2024 - 25



Pre-Retired Subscription

Active educators can secure lifetime membership in ISTA-Retired by purchasing a pre-retired subscription. This membership category allows active members to pay for a lifetime membership in ISTA-Retired at any point in their career. Dues for both active membership and pre-retired lifetime membership can be deducted through EasyPay or payroll deduction, making the process simple. 

Those who choose to purchase a pre-retired subscription must maintain ISTA membership until retirement. 

Pre-Retired Subscription Application


ISTA-Retired Leadership

ISTA-Retired is organized into regional zones with local chapters for members to engage. 


Executive Committee

Click on the executive committee member name to email the member. 

Rod Ellcessor, Chair

Ginger Calhoun, Vice-Chair

Terry Tafflinger, Secretary

Al Wolting, Member-at-Large

Ginger Calhoun, ISTA Board of Directors, Retired Representative

Michelle Blough, Zone 1 Coordinator

Jan Hayes, Zone 2 Coordinator

Lisa Koester, Zone 3 Coordinator

Terry Troxell, Zone 4 Coordinator

Roger Sharp, Zone 5 Coordinator

Karen Warble, Zone 6 Coordinator

District Council

The ISTA-Retired Statewide District Council is composed of an elected ISTA-Retired Board of Directors member, Retired representatives to the four ISTA Standing Committees, Retired I-PACE representative, one Retired member from each chapter, zone coordinators, NEA elected Retired members and ISTA president or designee (ex-officio).


ISTA-Retired has a number of statewide subcommittees on which retired members can serve, including Legislative, Membership, Newsletter, Communications, Scholarship and Golden Touch Award.

Latest News

ISTA-Retired produces a newsletter, The Chalkboard, delivering ISTA-Retired news to retired members.

Read the Latest Issue

Retired Chapter Grant

The ISTA-Retired is committed to supporting local retired chapters throughout the state. Retired Chapter Grants up to $500 may be submitted to help establish a new retired chapter, to assist a struggling chapter or to increase a retired chapter’s membership.



Review the 12 month calendar to help your chapter plan and carry out responsibilities as elected leaders of your local chapter.


For additional resources visit:

Frequently asked questions

I have questions about retirement counseling, retirement pension direct deposit or retirement pension payments. Who can answer my questions?

The Teacher Retirement Fund (TRF) is a division of the Indiana Public Retirement System (INPRS). You can talk to an INPRS representative by calling 844-GO-INPRS (844-464-6777). To reach a representative, an automated voicemail service will prompt you to enter your pension ID and passcode. If you don’t have both readily available, stay on the line following the prompt. When the request goes unanswered following the second prompt, the phone system will automatically transfer you to a representative.

I’m now a member of ISTA-Retired. Can I choose to continue in an ISTA leadership position?

Yes, there are many opportunities available for Retired members to be active in the Association. Retired members have seats on the Board of Directors and governance and issue committees and can serve at the ISTA and NEA Representative Assemblies. Additionally, each ISTA-Retired chapter elects local officers.

Why should I choose ISTA-Retired over another professional retirement organization?

ISTA-Retired is the only organization that maintains your membership in the Association that has supported you throughout your career. Continue to receive NEA member benefits and discounts and enjoy the connection to colleagues. As an ISTA-Retired member, you can remain a vital instrument in supporting public education in Indiana.