‹ Back to List

19 ISTA Foundation Scholarships Awarded to Teachers

Scholarships Support Completion of National Board Certification

The ISTA Foundation for the Improvement of Education awarded scholarships to 19 teachers pursuing National Board Certification. ISTA and the ISTA Foundation are committed to increasing the attainment of this important credential to strengthen teaching practices and improve student learning.

"The ISTA Foundation seeks to enable Hoosier teachers to pursue National Board Certification," said ISTA Foundation President Keith Gambill. "It's the gold standard of teacher certifications, and ISTA has set a goal to increase the number of teachers in Indiana with this certification."

National Board Certification is gaining recognition in Indiana. Twenty-five ISTA-affiliated local associations have added National Board Certification toward salary advancements in their contracts, while 32 have bargained stipends for certification. 

The scholarship awardees are: 

Mikayla Barnes, Monroe County Education Association
Margaret Shields, Monroe County Education Association
Jennifer Barnes, New Albany-Floyd County Education Association
Martha Chamberlain, Monroe County Education Association
John Brown, Monroe County Education Association
Nancy Leef, Fort Wayne Education Association
Lindsey Porter, Washington Township Education Association
Gina Boyd, Spencer-Owen Education Association
Jessica Carlson, Garrett-Keyser-Butler Education Association
Dominic Thompson, Spencer-Owen Education Association
Jennifer Gohmann, New Albany-Floyd County Education Association
Chris Judson, Concord Teachers Association
Amy Crosser, New Albany-Floyd County Education Association
Jane Elgin, Evansville Teachers Association
Amy Hardesty-Asher, Union Township Teachers Association
Catherine Taylor, Union Township Teachers Association
Alvin Enlow, West Lafayette Education Association
Michelle Pittman, NEA South Bend
Samantha Patterson, Clay Community Classroom Teachers Association