‹ Back to List

Carissa Richardson-Lahrman honored with California Casualty Award for Teaching Excellence

In August, the NEA Foundation announced the 2018 California Casualty Award for Teaching Excellence recipients. Carissa Richardson-Lahrman, seventh-grade math, science and engineering technology teacher at Towles New Tech in Fort Wayne, is the Indiana recipient.

Nationwide, 38 awardees were recognized. They will represent the best of their profession at the NEA Foundation’s Salute to Excellence in Education Gala in Washington, D.C., in February 2018.

“These outstanding educators put heart and soul into supporting students and improving the profession,” said Harriet Sanford, NEA Foundation President and CEO. “We deeply appreciate California Casualty’s partnership in recognizing educators across the country.”

The California Casualty Awards for Teaching Excellence are unique. In addition to being recognized for excellence in instructional and professional practice, awardees are nominated by their peers – their NEA state affiliate – for their dedication to the profession, community engagement, professional development, attention to diversity and advocacy for fellow educators.

“We are glad to have the chance to show our respect and appreciation for the work of public school educators each year,” said Beau Brown, California Casualty CEO. “We applaud the great work of the California Casualty awardees.”

Each California Casualty Award for Teaching Excellence awardee’s school will receive a $650 award. Award presentations will be made now through October.

During the gala in February, the NEA Foundation and the NEA will jointly present the nation’s top educator award. The gala will be livestreamed on the NEA Foundation’s website.

Thank you to NEA Member Benefit partner, California Casualty, for supporting and recognizing great educators in our communities.