‹ Back to List

Aspiring educators recognized with scholarships and awards

Seven members of the Indiana Student Education Association (ISEA), the organization for college students pursuing a career in education, were awarded scholarships during the ISEA Representative Assembly earlier this spring.

The annual scholarships support students financially to complete their degrees.

ISEA Scholarship awardees received $500. They must demonstrate an interest in an education career and remain committed and involved in the local ISEA chapter and state activities. This year’s awardees include:

  • Katherine Hurst, Indiana State University
  • Maricela Mesarina, Purdue University – Northwest
  • Syeda Qasmi, Western Governors University
  • Alyssa Valek, Indiana University – Bloomington

The Jesamie Moore Memorial Scholarship is awarded to a current ISEA member interested in a career in special education and active in the local chapter and statewide association. Elizabeth Hofmeyer from Purdue University was awarded the scholarship.

The Outstanding Senior Recognition Award recognizes seniors who have contributed a significant amount of work to their local chapter and the statewide association. The award – traditionally given to two seniors – went to Mallory Burris from Indiana University – Bloomington and Anthony Eley from Wabash College.

Congratulations to our aspiring educators, and best of luck as you continue your journey toward becoming our state’s newest educators!

For more information about ISEA’s scholarships and awards visit