‹ Back to List

ISTA Members Elect Officers

ISTA president, vice president and NEA board member elected to represent educators.

At the Indiana State Teachers Association Representative Assembly, the association’s annual business meeting, ISTA members elected Keith Gambill as president, Jennifer Smith-Margraf as vice president and Julie Hyndman as National Education Association (NEA) board member.

These officers represent the voice of Hoosier educators and advocate for a quality public education for every kid, regardless of ZIP code.



Gambill has served two terms as the ISTA vice president and is a music teacher in the Evansville Vanderburgh School Corporation. During his time as ISTA vice president, he has also served as chair of the ISTA Foundation for the Improvement of Education. Gambill’s term as ISTA president will begin August 1, 2019. 

“I have had the privilege to witness, firsthand, the hard work and struggle of our members,” said Gambill. “I know the sacrifices educators, and their families, make to ensure all students receive a quality education. I pledge to work in solidarity to advance public education in Indiana.” 

Vice president-elect 

Smith-Margraf serves as the Lafayette Education Association co-president. She also serves as the NEA board member and will complete her term on September 1, 2019. Smith-Margraf is a Spanish teacher at Jefferson High School in the Lafayette School Corporation. Smith-Margraf’s term as ISTA vice president will begin August 1, 2019. 

“We all want our profession to be respected and valued,” said Smith-Margraf. “We do have the power to make positive change on behalf of public education. I pledge to bring back the respect that our profession deserves.” 

NEA board member-elect 

Hyndman serves as the Fort Wayne Education Association president, a position she has held for more than five years. She has been an active member in ISTA serving on the board of directors and the Indiana Political Action Committee for Education. Hyndman’s term as NEA board member will begin September 1, 2019. 

“Our public schools must be a priority to ensure that all children receive an equitable education and appropriate services,” said Hyndman. At the representative assembly, ISTA delegates also elected members to the board of directors and standing committee members from across the state.