‹ Back to List

Hoosier Teacher Named for National Award

The NEA Foundation will recognize honorees for the California Casualty Award for Teaching Excellence. 

The NEA Foundation announced Deborah Argenta, an elementary art teacher at Jonas E. Salk Elementary School in Merrillville, as one of 46 public school educators who will receive the prestigious California Casualty Award for Teaching Excellence at the NEA Foundation's Salute to Excellence in Education Gala next February in Washington, D.C. 

Awardees are nominated by their peers for their dedication to the profession, community engagement, professional development, attention to diversity and advocacy for fellow educators. 

"Deborah is very deserving of this honor," said ISTA President Teresa Meredith. "She shines as an example of a public-school educator dedicating her career to developing the creativity of kids and fostering new educators." 

Argenta was also named the ISTA Hoosier Educator of the Year in April. 

"We deeply appreciate California Casualty's partnership in recognizing these exemplary educators, and we look forward to honoring them next February," said NEA Foundation President and CEO Harriet Sanford.

About the NEA Foundation

The NEA Foundation is a public charity founded by educators for educators to improve public education for all students. Since its founding in 1969, the Foundation has served as a laboratory of learning, offering funding and other resources to public school educators, their schools and districts to solve complex teaching and learning challenges. The Foundation elevates and shares educator solutions to ensure greater reach and impact on student learning. Visit the for more information.